Lady Eagles runner-up at Broughton Memorial

Alex Hawley

August 26, 2013

MARIETTA, Ohio — Tie-breakers don’t always go in your favor.

The Eastern girls cross country team finished second Saturday at the 14th Annual Elizabeth S. Broughton Memorial in Washington County. The Lady Eagles scored 57 points, which tied Logan for first place, but when going to the tie-breaker (the sixth best time on your team) the Lady Chieftains prevailed as EHS had on five runners in the event.

The tie-breaker allowed Logan took first out of eight teams, while Eastern was second and Caldwell was third with 65 points.Fort Frye was fourth (73), Marietta came in fifth (108) and Warren placed sixth (124). Rounding out the field was New Lexington with 193 points and Meadowbrook with 204.

Out of 66 competitors the best time in the girls competition was 20:45.1 by Caldwell senior Jenna Furr. Second place was Logan freshman Emma Hoellrich with a time of 21:03.8, while Eastern junior Asia Michael was third with a time of 21:23.7.

Following Michael for the Lady Eagles was junior Taylor Palmer with a time of 21:57, which was good enough for fifth place. EHS freshman Laura Pullins was ninth with a time of 22:40.9, while senior Keri Lawrence took 12 with a time of 23:09.4. rounding out the Lady Eagles total was sophomore Kourtney Lawrence, who placed 29th with a time of 25:25.6.

The boys tam competition was won by Warren with 65 points, followed by Fairmont with 74 and Fort Frye with 75. Cladwell was fourth overall (80), Belpre was fifth (104), Marietta placed sixth (133) and Logan was seventh (144). Rounding out the eight team field was New Lexington with 220 points.

Out of 74 boys runners Fort Frye senior Jordan Anderson was first overall with a time of 17:32.7, followed by Belpre sophomore Cray Sistrunk with a time of 17:36.6. Third place overall was Warren senior Blain Parker with a time of 17:40.2.

Eastern junior Tyson Long was 27th overall with a time of 20:27.9, while classmate Brock Smith was 48th with a time of 22:05.8. The Eagles did not have enough runners for a team score.

Complete results of the 14th Annual Elizabeth S. Broughton Memorial can be found online at