Local candidates beat filing deadline for May Primary

By Beth Sergent

January 25, 2014

MASON COUNTY — With openings on the county commission, board of education and county executive committees for each party up for grabs, candidates wanting a place on the May ballot were making sure they beat Saturday’s filing deadline.

As of Friday afternoon at 3:30 p.m., the office of Mason County Clerk Diana Cromley reported the following candidates had filed for office:

In the race for county commission, it appeared at least at press time, there wasn’t much of a race, with Incumbent Rick Handley (D) being the only one from either party who filed.

Filing for the three open seats on the Mason County Board of Education were Incumbents Greg Flower of Point Pleasant (District Two), Dale Shobe of Leon (District Two) and Randy Searls of Gallipolis Ferry (District Four). Also filing, Martin Zirkle of Mason (District One), Mickey Whalen of Point Pleasant (District Two), N. Jason Andrick of Letart (District Two).

Filing for County Executive Committee, Female, Democrats - Bonnie J. Fruth of Point Pleasant (District Four), Ashley Wood of Point Pleasant (District Five), Mercedes Sayre of Point Pleasant (District Four), Agnes Angela Roush of Mason (District One), Shirley Livingston of Leon (District Three), Samantha Fooce of Point Pleasant (District Six), Marcia Finley of Point Pleasant (District Six), Freeda Mayes of Ashton (District Eight), Opal Bonecutter of Gallipolis Ferry (District Six). Republicans - Merlie Hart of Leon (District Four), Donna Kay Akers of Point Pleasant (District Six).

Filing for County Executive Committee, Male, Democrats - Floyd Sayre of Point Pleasant (District Four), Ernie Compson of Mason (District One), Willie Livingston of Leon (District Three), Kevin Fooce of Point Pleasant (District Six), Roger Bonecutter of Gallipolis Ferry (District Six), Tom McNeely of Point Pleasant (District Five), Randall Mayes of Ashton (District Eight). Republicans - Curtis C. McConihay of Point Pleasant (District Four), Troy Wood of Point Pleasant (District Five), C. Keith Sargent of Point Pleasant (District Six).

Filing for the 14th Delegate District Executive Committee, Third Congressional District Executive Committee and Fourth Senatorial District Executive Committee - Mercedes Sayre (D -Point Pleasant) Floyd Sayre (D-Point Pleasant).

Filing for Conservation District Supervisor - Charles T. Lipscomb of Letart.

The last day to file for candidacy is Saturday, Jan. 25. Although the Mason County Clerk’s Office is not open on Jan. 25, if a candidate submits their materials by mail which is postmarked on Jan. 25, it will be accepted.

The Point Pleasant Register will run a finalized list of candidates once it become available.