New council members

January 30, 2014

Elizabeth Jones and Charles Garland were recently sworn in by City of Point Pleasant Mayor Brian Billings and City Clerk Amber Tatterson to serve on Point Pleasant City Council. Jones, pictured second from left, who is also a downtown business owner, will represent Ward One, while Garland, pictured far left, previously served on council and will represent Ward Six. Both were appointed due to the recent resignations of Doug Tawney, who stepped down due to health reasons, and Linda Smith, who stepped down after moving out of town. The nominations and appointments of Jones and Garland were unanimous and took place at the Jan. 14 meeting of Point Pleasant City Council. Both will attend their first council meeting on Monday, Feb. 10. Billings said both he and Tatterson, as well as other city council members, look forward to working with their new colleagues.