OVP area earns 12 on District 13 boys teams

Alex Hawley

March 12, 2014

Meigs and Gallia counties landed a total of 12 boys on the District 13 Basketball Coaches Association teams for the 2013-14 campaign, as was voted on by the coaches within the area.

Of the six schools within the Ohio Valley Publishing area, only River Valley failed to land a player on the list. Gallia Academy, Southern and South Gallia led the way with three selections each, followed by Meigs with two selections. Eastern also landed one choice, while none of the 12 selections won any special awards within their specific division.

Junior Tristen Wolfe was a first-team selection for the Tornadoes in Division IV, while SHS senior Taylor McNickle was a second-team choice. SHS senior Dennis Teaford was the final Southern honoree after being chosen to the special mention squad.

Junior Brayden Greer was a first-team choice for the Rebels in D-4 and was joined by senior teammate Ethan Spurlock and sophomore teammate Landon Hutchinson, as special mention selections.

Staying in D-4 the Eastern Eagles landed junior Christian Speelman as a special mention choice.

Senior Reid Eastman was a second-team choice for the Blue Devils in D-2, while sophomores Wes Jarrell and Jacob Strieter were each special mention selections.

Meigs was represented by senior Damon Jones as a second team choice in Division II, while Marauders junior Isaiah English was a special mention honoree.

District 13 encompasses all the teams located in Lawrence, Jackson, Gallia, Meigs, Washington, Athens, Hocking and Vinton counties.


First Team

Evan French Warren 12

Ibi Watson Athens 10

Michael Hall Warren 11

Joey Burrow Athens 11

Braden Riley Marietta 12

Reece Patton Warren 12

Player of the Year

Evan French Warren

Coaches of the Year

Blane Maddox Warren

Jeff Skinner Athens

Second Team

Alex Owings Vinton County 12

Kevin Fisher Logan 11

Reid Eastman Gallia Academy 12

Damon Jones Meigs 12

Jordan Albright Vinton County 10

Special Mention

Jonathon Wood Marietta 11

Ryan Luehrman Athens 11

Joey Cottrill Logan 12

Wes Jarrell Gallia Academy 10

Isaiah English Meigs 11

Tyler Neal Jackson 12

Zacciah Saltzman Athens 10

Jacob Strieter Gallia Academy 10

Max Ward Vinton County 11


First Team

Brandon Barnes South Point 12

Garrin Stiltner Oak Hill 12

Evan Maddox Fairland 12

Conor Markins Coal Grove 12

Josh Fayette Nelsonville-York 12

Austin Collins Rock Hill 11

Player of the Year

Brandon Barnes South Point

Coach of the Year

Chris Barnes South Point

Second Team

Nick Therriault Belpre 12

Pete Crum Federal Hocking 12

Eli Ketron South Point 12

Seth Richardson Alexander 10

Chance Short Fairland 11

Gage Rhoades Chesapeake 10

Special Mention

Tristan Cox Ironton 11

John Johnson South Point 11

DJ Miller Coal Grove 12

Alfy Nichols Federal Hocking 12

Brandon Adkins Coal Grove 11

Brennan Ferrell Belpre 12

Caleb Stanley Wellston 10

Chazz Davis Wellston 10

Caleb Heffner Chesapeake 12

Colt Adams Nelsonville-York 11


First Team

Tyler Rowe Symmes Valley 12

Tristen Wolfe Southern 11

Micah Couch Trimble 11

Brayden Greer South Gallia 11

Elijah Rader Miller 11

Cody Paxton Waterford 11

Player of the Year

Tyler Rowe Symmes Valley

Coach of the Year

Tom Simms Waterford

2nd Team

Wulf Goheen Ironton St Joe 11

Troy Scott Ironton St Joe 11

Jon Kouns Symmes Valley 12

Taylor McNickle Southern 12

Dylan Malone Symmes Valley 11

Special Mention

Ethan Spurlock South Gallia 12

Hunter Starlin Miller 12

Landon Hutchinson South Gallia 10

Jacob Koons Trimble 12

Eli Strahler Waterford 12

Konnor Standley Trimble 12

Christian Speelman Eastern 11

Wyatt Porter Waterford 12

Tanner Pottmeyer Waterford 11

Dennis Teaford Southern 12