OVP area lands 17 on District 13 girls teams

Bryan Walters

March 12, 2014

Meigs and Gallia counties landed a total of 17 people — 16 girls and one coach — on the District 13 Basketball Coaches Association teams for the 2013-14 campaign, as voted on by the coaches within the area.

Of the six schools within the Ohio Valley Publishing area, only Meigs and Gallia Academy failed to land more than one player on the list. Eastern led the way with seven selections, followed by Southern with four and both South Gallia and River Valley with two apiece.

Eastern senior Jenna Burdette captured her fourth consecutive Player of the Year honor in Division IV, and her father John was also named the D-4 Coach of the Year.

Classmates Jordan Parker, Erin Swatzel and Katie Keller were also first-team choices for EHS in D-4, while senior Maddie Rigsby and freshman Laura Pullins were respectively chosen to the second-team and special mention squads.

Southern — which finished with double-digit wins for the first time in a decade — landed senior Celestia Hendrix on the D-4 second team and were also represented on the special mention list by Cierra Turley, Ali Deem and Haley Hill.

South Gallia had a pair of players make the D-4 team as well, as senior Rachel Johnson and sophomore Mikayla Poling were each selected as special mention choices.

River Valley landed two players on the D-3 squad, with sophomore Leia Moore and junior Chelsea Copley each being chosen as a special mention choice.

Junior Kelsey Hudson represented Meigs as a special mention selection in D-3, while junior Micah Curfman was a second-team choice for Gallia Academy in the Division 1-2 category.

District 13 encompasses all the teams located in Lawrence, Jackson, Gallia, Meigs, Washington, Athens, Hocking and Vinton counties.

2014 District 13 girls basketball teams

Divisions 1-2

First Team

Madison Ridout Jackson 12

Dominique Doseck Athens 11

Lydia Poe Jackson 12

Ashley Frasure Logan 12

Victoria Buzzard Warren 11

Lain Weppler Marietta 11

Player of the Year: Madison Ridout Jackson

Coach of the Year: Matt Walburn Jackson

Second Team

Michaela Puckett Vinton County 10

Megan Dixon Vinton County 12

Hannah DeBruin Athens 12

Micah Curfman Gallia Academy 11

Kendra Lynch Warren 12

Special Mention

Starr Johnson Marietta 12

Lauren Martin Marietta 11

Paige Davis Logan 10

Taylor Smith Marietta 11

Taylor Myers Logan 10

Olivia Harris Athens 11

Jamee Park Vinton County 12

Kacee Jenkins Jackson 11

Sarah Proctor Warren 12

Xan Hale Vinton County 12

Division 3

First Team

Terra Stapleton Fairland 12

Lexie Barrier Ironton 10

Leanna Adkins Oak Hill 12

Madison Davis Nelsonville-York 11

Leah Richardson Alexander 9

Lexi Humphreys Wellston 11

Player of the Year: Terra Stapleton Fairland

Coach of the Year: Doug Hale Oak Hill

Second Team

Brett Justice South Point 12

Kelsey Riley Fairland 11

Caitlin Stone Fairland 11

Jacy Jones Coal Grove 11

Angela Meade Nelsonville-York 12

Special Mention

Allyson Malone Alexander 11

Leia Moore River Valley 10

Kaylee Curry Chesapeake 10

Kelsey Hudson Meigs 11

Chandler Fulks Fairland 12

Sydnee Hall Chesapeake 11

Lexi Hopkins Wellston 11

Abby Haislop Oak Hill 11

Chelsey Copley River Valley 11

Morgan Sites Coal Grove 12

Division 4

First Team

Jenna Burdette Eastern 12

Jordan Parker Eastern 12

Erin Swatzel Eastern 12

Dani Drayer Waterford 10

Katie Keller Eastern 12

Hannah Miller Ironton St Joe 11

Player of the Year: Jenna Burdette Eastern 12

Coach of the Year: John Burdette Eastern

Second Team

Maddie Rigsby Eastern 12

Celestia Hendrix Southern 12

Regan Porter Waterford 10

Kalli Hunt Symmes Valley 12

Amber Neal Ironton St Joe 11

Special Mention

Rachel Johnson South Gallia 12

Laura Pullins Eastern 9

Taylor Hilverding Waterford 11

Cierra Turley Southern 11

Ali Deem Southern 10

Mikayla Poling South Gallia 10

Hannah Maynard Symmes Valley 12

Haley Hill Southern 10

Breanna Brumfield Symmes Valley 10

Ali Bray Miller 12