Burdettes named D-4 coach, player of the year by OHSBCA

Bryan Walters

April 23, 2014

TUPPERS PLAINS, Ohio — You can’t have one without the other.

Eastern girls basketball coach John Burdette and University of Dayton signee Jenna Burdette each came away with some serious hardware on behalf of the Ohio High School Basketball Coaches Association this past weekend as the father-daughter duo were respectively announced as the Division IV coach and player of the year by the OHSBCA.

Both Burdettes played key roles in guiding the Lady Eagles to a program-best 27-1 overall mark while picking up the school’s first-ever state championship, which came in a 49-38 triumph over Zanesville Bishop Rosecrans in the D-4 OHSAA state title game.

John Burdette — who now owns a 120-30 overall record in six seasons at EHS — was joined by Jill Phillips of Cincinnati Princeton (D-1), Lisa Patterson of West Holmes (D-2) and Brian Ziegler (D-3) as the divisional choices for coaches of the year this past winter.

Burdette, Phillips and Patterson each guided their respective teams to state titles in both the tournament and in the final AP polls. Gary Langenderfer of Swanton was named the assistant coach of the year on the girls side.

Jenna Burdette — a four-time Southeast District POY selection who finished her EHS career as the school’s alltime leading scorer with 1,807 points — was joined by Kathryn Westbeld of Kettering Fairmont (D-1), Amanda Cahill of Clyde (D-2) and Rachel Myers of Liberty-Benton (D-3) as the divisional choices for players of the year.

Kelsey Mitchell of Princeton — an Ohio State signee who was also named Ms. Basketball by the Ohio AP — was selected as Ms. OHSBCA by the coaches.

Both Burdettes will have one final game together this Sunday during the annual OHSBCA North-South games that will be played at Ohio Dominican University. John will serve as the South coach of the Division III-IV girls squad and Jenna — who was the high-point scorer in the Ohio-Indiana All-Star game — will play her final prep game under her father’s guidance.

The Division III-IV girls basketball contest kicks off a four-game showcase that start at noon.

On the boys side of the OHSBCA selections, junior Luke Kennard of Franklin — a Duke University commit — was named Mr. OHSBCA by the coaches.

The divisional players of the year were Vincent Edwards of Middletown (D-1), Dakota Mathias of Elida (D-2), Peyton Aldridge of LaBrae (D-3) and Geoff Beans of Ottawa Hills (D-4).

The divisional coaches of the year were Tom McBride of Uniontown Lake (D-1), Greg Woodard of John Glenn (D-2), Ray Corbett of Grandview Heights (D-3) and Jeremy Best of Convoy Crestview (D-4).

All award-winners will receive their honors during the OHSBCA North-South event.