New Haven candidates beat filing deadline

Mindy Kearns - Special to the Register

NEW HAVEN — It was a slow start to fill the ballot for the Town of New Haven municipal election, but after Saturday’s deadline to file, residents will have a wide range of choices.

Early last week, only three candidates had filed for office, including one each for mayor, recorder, and council. Now on the ballot will be four mayoral candidates, one for recorder, and 16 hopefuls for five council seats.

In the mayor’s race, incumbent Charles Yonker will face off against two former mayors and one newcomer. Both Stephen “Snuf” Smith and Grayson “Pat” Williamson have filed and have previously held the position. The fourth candidate for mayor is Eric Blain.

The lone candidate seeking the recorder’s chair is incumbent Roberta Hysell.

The ticket for council includes a mixture of incumbents, former council members, a former mayor, and some who are seeking the position for the first time.

They include incumbents James Elias and Vinson “Smitty” Jarrell, and former mayor George Gibbs. Others running are Jackie Blain, Sarah Gibbs, Matthew Gregg, Roy Dale Grimm, Jr., Karen Ann Hindel, Nora Hoffett, Grant Hysell, James McCormick, Pamela Schwarz, Matthew Shell, Timothy Stone, Elnora Weaver, and Erin Young.

Incumbents not seeking re-election for council are Ken Vickers, Amy Gordon and Jessica Howard.

The election will be held June 7, with new officials taking office July 1 for a two-year term.

Mindy Kearns

Special to the Register

Mindy Kearns is a freelance writer for Ohio Valley Publishing who lives in Mason County.

Mindy Kearns is a freelance writer for Ohio Valley Publishing who lives in Mason County.


3:41 pm
Updated: 10:20 pm. |    
Former first lady visits
9:06 pm
Updated: 9:08 pm. |    
Wahama High School crowns prom royalty
comments powered by Disqus