Last updated: August 19. 2013 7:06PM - 1317 Views
Agnes Hapka ahapka@civitasmedia.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

POINT PLEASANT — Mason County Board of Education approved several new employment contracts at its recent meeting.

Board president Randy Searls called the meeting to order. Also present were vice-president Greg Fowler, and members Thomas Nunnery, Paul Sayre and Dale Shobe.

Searls recommended the board approve the following as school bus drivers for the 2013-2014 school year: Shirley Billings, Ronald Browning, Deloris Burris, Lorita Carr, Jodie Craft, Maria Eshenaur, Vanessa Harper, Franklin Hudnall, Timothy Kidwell, Shirley Livingston, William Mallette, Casby Mitchell, Kendi Morris, Samuel Nibert, Amilda Noll-Thompson, Charlotte Oshel, Barbara Scarberry, Douglas Sturgeon, Keith Taylor, Joann Thomas, Cynthia Tupes, Bridget White, Lawrence Wright. Their driving records have been approved by the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles and the WV Division of Motor Vehicles. The motion passed.

The board also voted to approve Debbie Powell as a volunteer for Point Pleasant Jr./Sr. High, for the 2013/14 school year, and to approve parental leave for Blair Bumgarner, teacher at Leon Elementary, for a maximum of 12 weeks unpaid leave, and for Ashley Ord, teacher, Point Pleasant Primary School, also for a maximum of 12 weeks unpaid leave. The board accepted resignations from the following: Rebecca Crawford, counselor at Point Pleasant High School, and Connie McCarty, Title I teacher at Leon Elementary.

In addition, the board approved the following transfers: Jo Ann Chaney, fifth-grade teacher at Point Pleasant Intermediate, to third-grade teacher at Leon Elementary; Alisha Walls to sixth-grade teacher at Beale Elementary; Amanda Utterback, math teacher, to Point Pleasant Intermediate School (pending permit); Tracie Pride, to LD/BD/MI/AU teacher at Leon Elementary; Cassie Goldsberry to Wahama High School; Michelle Starcher to special education teacher at Point Pleasant High School; James Casto to Point Pleasant High School (pending certification). All are pending permits.

The board also approved the employment of the following as substitute teachers: Donna Barnes, William Buchanan, Anthony Dagostine, Stephanie Fowble, Jade Gray, Kimberly Hunt, Sabrina McDaniel, Bo Napora, Amber Stover, Donna Surface, Angela Thomas, Charles Tyree, Christine Williams, Joyce Manuel Wolfe. County will be the funding source.

The board also approved the resignation of Thomas Brad Bird of the maintenance department, and approved the employment of Leah Chapman and Carrie Hale as substitute secretaries, and employment of Arden Painter, substitute mechanic. The board also accepted the resignation of Adam Watson, head junior high football coach at Wahama, and Adam Watson, assistant varsity boys basketball coach.

The board also approved the contract between Mason County Board of Education and Marshall University dual credit instructors for the 2013-2014 school year (all contracts pending classroom enrollment): Mark Bowman, Psychology, one section; Tim Roach, Med Terminology, two sections; Anatomy & Physiology, one section; Jean Daniels, Algebra I, one section.

There will be a special policy/regular business meeting at 6 p.m. om August 20, 2013, at Mason County Career Center, and a regular business meeting at 6 p.m. on August 27, also at the career center.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Point Pleasant Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com