GA golfers headed to districts

Bryan Walters

9 months 17 days 2 hours ago |1251 Views | | | Email | Print

CHILLICOTHE, Ohio — Some things never change.

The Gallia Academy golf team secured its sixth straight district berth Tuesday afternoon after placing fourth at the 2013 Division II Southeast sectional tournament held at the Chillicothe Jaycees Golf Course in Ross County.

The Blue Devils — who finished third in the SEOAL under first-year head coach Mark Allen — posted a four-man team score of 352, which was good enough to secure one of the top-five advancing spots for districts. The D-2 district championships will be held at 9 a.m. Wednesday at Pickaway Country Club in Circleville.

Chesapeake came away with the with the sectional title after posting a winning tally of 335, followed by runner-up Wheelersburg with 337. Portsmouth was third overall with a 347, while Piketon rounded out the district qualifiers with a 355.

Mitchell McFarland of Wheelersburg was the individual medalist with a 1-over par 73, while the duo of GAHS sophomore Dares Hamid and Jordan Tieman of Portsmouth West tied as overall runner-up with a 79.

Tieman, James Hayden (81) of Fairland, Jaylen Thornhill (83) of Ironton, Daniel Heffner (86) of Waverly and Tristen Willbanks (87) of Lynchburg-Clay were the top-five individual qualifiers not involved with an advancing team for districts.

Marcus Moore followed Hamid for Gallia Academy with an 86, followed by Bruce Moreaux with a 90. Zach Graham rounded out the district qualifying score with a 97, while Miles Cornwell fired a non-counting 103 over 18 holes for the Devils.

River Valley had its season come to an end Tuesday after placing 13th out of 16 teams with a 438, with Logan Sheets leading the way with a 95. Jordan Howell was next with a 98, while the trio of Zach Morris, Rondal Cornell and Brandon Cornell posted matching scores of 123.

Meigs — the two-time reigning TVC Ohio champs — had its season also come to a close Tuesday in the other Division II sectional golf tournament held at Shawnee State Park in Scioto County.

The Marauders placed 12th out of 17 teams with a final tally of 383, with David Davis leading the way with an 89. Taylor Rowe was next with a 93, while Derik Hill and Evan George rounded out the respective team total with efforts of 97 and 104. Trenton Cook also fired a non-counting score of 107 over 18 holes for MHS.

Washington Court House won the D-2 sectional title with a 324, followed by runner-up Unioto (326) and Fairfield Union (329). Adena (330) and Logan Elm (332) rounded out the district qualifying top-five. Sam Calvin of Unioto and Peyton Cooper of Adena shared medalist honors with matching 2-over par efforts of 74.

Warren had two individual qualifiers in Max Hapney (76) and Reece Patton (81), while Eli McKee shot a 76 to advance to districts for Southeastern. Andrew Harley (78) of New Lexington and Andrew Pettenski (84) of Westfall earned the final two district spots next week at Circleville.

Both River Valley (Logan Sheets) and Meigs (Treay McKinney) had one golfer qualify for Division II district play last fall.


comments powered by Disqus


Sponsored By:

Local Gas Prices

Lowest Gas Prices in Point Pleasant
Point Pleasant Gas Prices provided by

Featured Business

Community Directory